Rookie

Hello future adopter! 

My name is Rookie! I’m a 2-year-old, 77 lb, purebred Chocolate Lab! I’m a big, loveable goof ball! The first part of my life, I was left in a kennel for many hours, so I didn’t get to be a playful puppy and socialize with the world, like puppies do! I am crate trained and housebroken. I am a very loving and affectionate guy. I enjoy playing with toys and getting lots of love and attention from my people. I like dogs and I love to play chase and tug with them.  

I’m currently hanging out with my good friend, Emily, who has been helping me overcome some obstacles I learned (or didn’t learn) when I was a younger pup. First, she taught me basic commands including place and shake! Currently, we have been working on leash manners, and some fears that I have. As I told you, I didn’t get outside much when I was younger, so everything in the world is new to me and sometimes I get nervous. If my person gives me some encouragement and cheers me on around the new sound/object, I can quickly redirect and know that all is okay. Despite my fears, I love going on walks and learning about how wonderful the outside world can be! And HEY, I like to swim so if you have a pool, I wouldn’t mind doing a few laps.

A yard of my own would help tremendously with my adjustment to your place because I will feel more secure plus, I like to run and play. Also, someone who is willing to keep up with my training as well as continue to help me build my confidence. My friend, Emily, says she will help us with transition and training so that we will succeed in a happy life together. I’m going to take a little time to warm up to my new surroundings, but I am truly ready for consistency, LOVE and someone to welcome me into their lives forever.

If you would like to give me a chance to show you what an awesome guy I am, please contact my foster advocate and she will arrange a time for us to meet. I can’t wait to introduce myself to you!